Working into Organic Materials.

Throughout my Make Your Mark project I have been working with very hard and industrial materials, glass, and acrylic are very hard working materials and it is the addition of paint that lifts this work into more fine art.

I have deiced to go into the organic form and material as I feel like this is a great contrast into the work I have been doing, and I can link the materials together through the use of paint and the application of paint into more conceptual art.

When I first started this project I wanted to create some vases in a cubist style, but as I have been experimenting and exploring more own skills I have been exploring extending my work from the expected to the conceptual. I started to build vases and found that my technical knowledge of slab building wasn’t at the stage where I could produce something high quality.

I started to play around with form and creating flowers as a way to practice my clay skills.

I started to play around with flowers forms and I found that I really liked working with the organic material and form. I started to play with little bits of clay in my hand and I started to create these forms.

IMG_20180508_135254_294

Author: Amy Marie Evans

I am a Third year student at Cardiff School of Art and Design, studying Artist Designer: Maker. In this blog I will document my making process as I look deep into the subtly of colour through material, and how using luxury materials, such as porcelain and silk, can create delicate work with the overarching theme of Yonic informing my practice.

Leave a comment