Revealing the Unseen

What is about subtly that informs my practice? Day to day I find myself looking at the world around me and I can see the colours hidden in plain sight. I spend a lot of my time on my own, in deep reflection and so I start to see the hidden world around us.

In my work with porcelain I have been looking into the subtle colours within the material when it is bisque fired, but that’s not the only place I see these hues. In the below image of my hand you can see the fine lines and details of my palm, but you can also see the subtle changing of colour and hue within my skin. The light and dark of highlights and shadows. This image really helps to apply context within my work, its a way of showing the viewer what I see.

IMG_20190407_174618_436
Close up detail of my right hand.

Showing the viewer is one thing, but I have started to make even deeper connections to myself and the materials I use.  When working in porcelain everything is pinch formed by hand, and now my hand is now reflecting the subtitles I wish to expose. There is always an ongoing conversation within my work, and its how I bring others into this conversation that will begin to open my work up further.

Is my work all show and now tell, or a mix of the two? How much am I willing to allow the viewer to gain without my prompting.

Author: Amy Marie Evans

I am a Third year student at Cardiff School of Art and Design, studying Artist Designer: Maker. In this blog I will document my making process as I look deep into the subtly of colour through material, and how using luxury materials, such as porcelain and silk, can create delicate work with the overarching theme of Yonic informing my practice.

Leave a comment